About Joe

Links

Check out these links to learn more about Joe’s work, crime fiction and the corporate world. Want to add a link? Submit a request.

Joe’s Hot List - Publishers, Agents, Publicists and More

Fellow Authors and Friends

  • Peter Abrahams (www.peterabrahams.com) - the Edgar-nominated author of DOWN THE RABBIT HOLE, OBLIVION and other titles.

  • Lee Child (www.leechild.com) - author of the bestselling Jack Reacher series.

  • Harlan Coben (www.harlancoben.com) - taller than Joe, but a great writer; author of the bestselling TELL NO ONE and the Myron Bolitar series.

  • Nelson DeMille (www.nelsondemille.net) - one of Joe’s favorite writers and a great guy who's been enormously helpful, beginning with Joe's first book (THE MOSCOW CLUB).

  • Tess Gerritsen (www.tessgerritsen.com) - author of the Edgar-nominated VANISH, among many terrific medical thrillers.

  • Malcolm Gladwell (www.gladwell.com) - author of BLINK and THE TIPPING POINT, and one of the most imaginative thinkers about modern life.

  • Gregg Hurwitz (www.gregghurwitz.net) - author of TRUST NO ONE and other thrillers.

  • Joseph Kanon (www.josephkanon.com) - author of four wonderful political thrillers, set during and after the Second World War.

  • Andrew Klavan (www.andrewklavan.com) - another master of the modern thriller.

  • Dennis Lehane (www.dennislehanebooks.com) - the author of MYSTIC RIVER takes the crime novel to new levels.

  • David Liss (www.davidliss.com) - shorter than Joe and even more sardonic; the only author Joe knows who is equally at home with 17th-century finance and the politics of modern Florida.

  • Chris Mooney (www.chrismooneybooks.com) - Boston-based author of REMEMBERING SARAH, another Edgar nominee.

  • David Morrell (www.davidmorrell.net) - godfather of the modern thriller and an unequalled writer of action scenes.

  • Douglas Preston (www.prestonchild.com) - another founder of the International Thriller Writers, and the author of some wonderful nonfiction as well as the thrillers he writes with Lincoln Child.

  • Lisa Scottoline (www.scottoline.com) - creator of a wonderful series of linked novels about tough female attorneys in Philadelphia. 

Organizations Joe Supports

  • International Thriller Writers (www.thrillerwriters.org) - Joe was a founding member of ITW, created in 2004 to celebrate and recognize excellence among writers of thrillers. KILLER INSTINCT won the 2007 Thriller Award for Best Novel.

  • Association of Former Intelligence Officers (www.afio.org) - A nationwide organization dedicated to providing the American public with a better knowledge and understanding of intelligence operations and the need for them.

  • International Association of Crime Writers (www.crimewritersna.org) - An organization that promotes the translation of crime writing into other languages, and works to defend authors against censorship and tyranny.

  • Theakstons Old Peculier Crime Writing Festival (www.harrogate-festival.org.uk/crime) - Europe’s biggest crime writing event. The Festival, held in Harrogate, is an annual four-day event which brings together the very best in crime fiction in a series of events, interviews, and panel sessions.

  • Kelly Packowski Foundation for Multiple Sclerosis (www.kpmsfoundation.com) - Joe is a big supporter of this Boston-based organization, founded by his friends John and Kelly Packowski after Kelly was diagnosed with MS. Its mission is "Changing one life at a time" by providing services and counseling for individuals and families coping with MS.

  • Mystery Writers of America (www.mysterywriters.org) - the premier organization for authors of crime fiction, and the group that awards the Edgars each year.

  • PEN New England (www.pen-ne.org) - Joe was on the board and still supports this organization, which seeks to advance the cause of literature and reading in New England and defend free expression everywhere.

  • ReadBoston (www.readboston.org) - An early literacy program founded by Mayor Tom Merino, dedicated to making sure that all Boston children can read at grade level by the time they finish third grade. Joe is a supporter and has given readings, in conjunction with Boston Private Bank, to help raise money for this organization.

  • The Yale Whiffenpoofs (www.yale.edu/whiffenpoofs) - Joe sang with this world-famous a cappella group while a senior at Yale.

The Business World

  • OldPhones.com (www.oldphones.com) – Joe’s brother found a way to turn his passion for collecting vintage telephones into a business.

  • Freakonomics blog (www.freakonomics.com/blog) - The authors of one of the most entertaining business books in years keep the conversation going.

  • Steelcase (www.steelcase.com) - Steelcase provided much of the real-life background for COMPANY MAN.  

  • Arsenal Consulting (www.arsenalexperts.com) - A Boston company that provides computer forensics services.

More Sites for Readers

  • Lovereading (www.lovereading.co.uk) - a British site for readers to share their opinions and recommendations and find authors who may be new to them.

  • BookBitch (www.bookbitch.com) - reviews and more from the legendary Stacy Alessi, who is not a bitch at all.

  • The Book Reporter (www.bookreporter.com) - Author interviews, book news and reviews from the folks who bring you AuthorsOnTheWeb.com.

  • Confessions of an Idiosyncratic Mind (www.sarahweinman.com) - An online literary salon for and about the crime fiction community, run by the extremely well-read Sarah Weinman.

  • Crime Fiction Dossier (www.crimefictionblog.com) - Reviewer David Montgomery comments on the crime fiction scene.

  • CrimeSpree magazine (www.crimespreemag.com) - A journal of crime fiction, author interviews, news and reviews.

  • Deadly Pleasures magazine (www.deadlypleasures.com) - "America's premier fan-oriented mystery magazine."

  • January Magazine (www.janmag.com) - An online literary magazine that reports on all types of books, but has a particularly good crime fiction section.

  • Levenger (www.levenger.com) - "Tools for Serious Readers," and the store most likely to benefit if Joe ever wins the lottery.

  • Mystery Ink (www.mysteryinkonline.com) - A journal of crime fiction reviews and author interviews, and the home of the Gumshoe Awards.

  • Mystery Scene magazine (www.mysteryscenemag.com) - "Your guide to the best in mystery, crime and suspense."

  • Off the Page (http://weblogs.sun-sentinel.com/features/arts/offthepage/blog/) - A blog for readers brought to you by the Sun-Sentinel's Oline Cogdill and Chauncey Mabe, two of the most thoughtful reviewers in the business.

  • Shots (www.shotsmag.co.uk) - A U.K.-based online crime and mystery magazine.

  • The Well-Read Life - The online literary community of Levenger, led by Joe’s friend Steve Leveen. 

  • BookDaily.com - Book samples for book lovers.

Booksellers